12

Booking Type
Arrival Date
27 September 2021
Duration
Flexibility
Adults (18+)
Children
Pets

Vale of Pickering Caravan Park

Allerston, North Yorkshire


252 Reviews

Park Description

Vale of Pickering Caravan Park is situated on a 15 acre site surrounded by a beautiful countryside close to the North York Moors National Park and the East Coast. The Vale of Pickering has just been awarded the Overall Winner of the AA Campsite of the Year 2017 for England, Scotland and Wales. The perfect base to explore the many attractions close by which include Dalby Forest, North Yorkshire Moors Railway, Castle Howard, Wolds Way Lavender, Playdale Animal Farm, Flamingo Land Theme Park and the many seaside towns including Scarborough, Whitby, Sandsend, Robin Hoods Bay Filey and Bridlington.

Spacious all weather touring pitches are suitable for touring caravans, seasonal touring caravans and motor-homes up to a maximum length of 27ft. Pitches are all level and are well drained. Touring pitches have a 10amp electric hook up supply and the camping areas are all level and can accommodate all tent sizes. Camping pitches with electric have a 6 amp supply which is suitable for low wattage appliances and lighting. New for 2017 we have a spacious Bell Tent (5 Meter) that sleeps a family of 4. There is room for a travel cot. The bell tent has a double bed and two single futons

For families with children we have a large well equipped play area with an adventure trail and also have a football pitch with goal posts and an area suitable for ball games and kite flying.

For that furry companion the park also has a 6 acre dog walking area and a purpose built hot water dog shower area.

Opening Dates

Monday 6th March 2017 to 2nd January 2018

Booking Arrangements

A £30.00 deposit is required at the time of booking and the balance is payable on arrival. If your balance is less than £30.00 then full payment is required.

If booking a Bell Tent the balance is due 6 weeks prior to arrival.

Facilities

Basic Facilities

Hard standing Pitches with 10amp electric Hook Up

Grass Camping Pitches

Calor Gas and Camping Gaz stockists

Dog Shower Area

Free Wi-Fi suitable for browsing and light use

Recreational Facilities

Childrens Play Area

Dog Walking Area

Shops & Restaurants

Licensed Shop open March until October

Attractions & Amenities

Laundry Room (coin operated)

Heated shower block

Grass Camping Pitches with 6 amp electric Hook Up

Enclosed Pot Wash Area

Ice Pack freezing facility (free)

Unisex Family Shower Rooms (1 fully accessible)

253 Reviews

All reviews featured on Campstead.com have been submitted by genuine customers who have stayed at the park.

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 253 Reviews in last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent
 
 
Very Good
 
 
Average
 
Poor
 
Terrible
 

24/09/2021

"Lovely place to stay"

Mrs L Taylor - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

Nothing negative can be said about this campsite, the site was kept lovely, the shower and toilets were spotless, the first site I have been to that had baths in the shower block. I would definitely go there again and would recommend it to my friends

23/09/2021

"Lovely site,as good as it gets!"

M Hill - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

Immaculate site,facilities perfect,staff very helpful and friendly,great location,would definitely recommend,thank you

23/09/2021

"Great site"

M Hardcastle - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

Having read tripadviser I decided to book the Vale of Pickering site. I certainly wasn't disappointed, what a lovely presented site. The guidance to the site and access was well defined. We were greeted by friendly staff with easy to follow site plans. The site was... Having read tripadviser I decided to book the Vale of Pickering site. I certainly wasn't disappointed, what a lovely presented site. The guidance to the site and access was well defined. We were greeted by friendly staff with easy to follow site plans. The site was level and spacious with service facilities within a very short walk. A toilet block with extremely clean and plentiful facilites was central, the unisex faciilties were fab. The grounds neat and tidy with lovely hanging baskets. The low level night lights were much appreciated. All in all a beautiful site, we'll definitely return.

22/09/2021

"Beautiful park"

D Beacham - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

This park was spotlessly clean all the trees and bushes were really tidy. The owners should be very proud of there park. If it was not six hours away from where we live we would be there quite often. All the awards you have won you deserve.

22/09/2021

"Large but excellent site"

S Lindsay - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

A brilliant park but until we were moved to the tent field rather too many caravans close together. The tent field with electric was quite perfect and peaceful. By

 

Caitlin, replied to this review on the 22 September 2021

Hi Susan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your request. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future. Vale of Pickering

21/09/2021

"Great site"

Mr K Carruthers - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

Enjoyed our stay, very clean welcoming site. Lots to do and see in the area. Would have been nice to have some footpaths that could be used to explore the farm.

 

Caitlin, replied to this review on the 21 September 2021

Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review about your stay here at the Vale of Pickering. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and will take your comments into consideration about the farm. We hope to welcome you again back in the future.... Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review about your stay here at the Vale of Pickering. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and will take your comments into consideration about the farm. We hope to welcome you again back in the future. Vale of Pickering

20/09/2021

"all round"

Mr A Howden - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

very good

20/09/2021

"No tv"

T Bell - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

We really enjoyed our stay , everything was perfect other than tv didn’t work and thought it was our tv, went all the way home to get another only to find out from reception it was a fire , maybe a note in window or an told us on arrival. Other than that perfect

 

Caitlin, replied to this review on the 21 September 2021

Hi Tony, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Vale of Pickering. With regards to the television signal, I am sure you can appreciate that this is completely out of our hands and we do have posters displayed on reception itself and on... Hi Tony, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Vale of Pickering. With regards to the television signal, I am sure you can appreciate that this is completely out of our hands and we do have posters displayed on reception itself and on the porch entrance which we regularly update. We hope to welcome you back at our site again in the future. Vale of Pickering

19/09/2021

"Fantastic Site, very highly recommended"

P Stagg - Stayed Sep 2021

I had a fantastic stay here. Perfectly flat camping pitches, good, clean facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff, well located and easy to get to. Just down the road, there is a very picturesque village that even has a house that is a converted train station.... I had a fantastic stay here. Perfectly flat camping pitches, good, clean facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff, well located and easy to get to. Just down the road, there is a very picturesque village that even has a house that is a converted train station. On-site there is a pizza night on a Friday and a fish n chip van comes on a Saturday. The children's facilities looked good (although I had no children with me) and always had children playing on them so really went down well with them. There is also a dog walking field, laundry facilities, and a good-sized pot wash with a communal freezer. I can't wait for next year when the good weather returns, I will definitely be headed back again. Would recommend this site to anyone 5* plus!!

 

Caitlin, replied to this review on the 21 September 2021

Good Afternoon Phil, What a brilliant review this was to read! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Vale of Pickering! We can't wait to welcome you back on site next year. Fingers crossed for the weather! Vale of Pickering

18/09/2021

"Paid to stay three nights, left after three hours."

Mr A Bishop - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

Reception was welcoming and, from what we saw of the park, it was clean and tidy. There were lots of young families with children, therefore very noisy. When we first arrived at reception, the lady on the desk did say, almost apologetically, that there were lots of... Reception was welcoming and, from what we saw of the park, it was clean and tidy. There were lots of young families with children, therefore very noisy. When we first arrived at reception, the lady on the desk did say, almost apologetically, that there were lots of children but they would be leaving next day, that being Sunday. Children do make a noise, and that's understandable, but what we did find unacceptable was the constant barking of quite a number of dogs on the park. We felt that it was pointless complaining to staff, as, quite clearly, they could hear them and accepted it. Also, as someone else pointed out, there seemed to be a clique atmosphere. The pitch next to us actually had the names of a couple on a sign. In the end we decided to leave after just three hours.

 

Dianne, replied to this review on the 20 September 2021

Thank you for leaving a review of our park Mr Bishop and I am pleased to read that you found reception welcoming and our park clean and tidy. To address your negative points. Your booking was made the day before arrival online. There was only one pitch available on... Thank you for leaving a review of our park Mr Bishop and I am pleased to read that you found reception welcoming and our park clean and tidy. To address your negative points. Your booking was made the day before arrival online. There was only one pitch available on your arrival day (Saturday) and it was nearer to the childrens play park than we would have liked to allocate you being only 2 adults. On check in it was explained to you that yes we had families onsite with children enjoying their weekend but was to assure you that your other 2 days would be very quiet. You had made a request for a quiet pitch it was only fair to explain/apologise to you that at short notice we were unable to meet your request on your first night. We welcome dogs on our park as do all sites as far as i'm aware but to say there was constant barking is quite untrue. If a dog was barking constantly and I was aware of this we would certainly look into where this was coming from. I'm sure other guests would also find it annoying and point it out to us if we hadn't heard it ourselves. The pitch next to you did have a name displayed on it. This pitch was occupied by a touring motorhome/campervan and was displayed so that when they pull off for their day out it alerts other park guests that the pitch is occupied. You were pitched in the touring area with different guests coming and going so i'm very suprised that you thought that there was a clique atmosphere in the short time that you were onsite. What a shame that you have left a review as you have and not dropped in at reception to raise your concerns. Reception is open from 9am until 5pm and we also have an out of hours point of contact.

Other Parks Nearby

Wyse House Farm

6.4 Miles / 10.3 km

68 Reviews

Pinewood Park

9.1 Miles / 14.6 km

0 Reviews

Jacobs Mount Caravan Park

9.3 Miles / 15 km

93 Reviews

Rosedale Abbey Caravan Park

13.4 Miles / 21.6 km

192 Reviews