List your site
Destinations
England
Northern Ireland
Wales
Scotland
Ireland
Inspirations
Holiday Ideas
Accommodation

Thornton Hall Country Park

3.7 (41 reviews)

Thornton Hall Camping is a family-run campsite and makes for the ideal choice for families and couples looking for a tranquil place to stay. Boasting a number of electric and non-electric grass pitches, our site is surrounded by the rolling hills of Yorkshire and Lancashire!

Search for availability Search for availability

Welcome to Thornton Hall Camping!

Our family-run camp site is a top quality choice for families and couples who are searching for a tranquil place to stay in the gorgeous county of North Yorkshire.

Boasting a number of electric and non-electric grass pitches, our site is surrounded by the rolling hills of Yorkshire and Lancashire. Perfect for walking. Why not follow the Pennine Way which runs straight through our Country Park!

Those camping at Thornton Hall will receive a discount on entry to Thornton Hall Farm situated a stone’s throw away from the campsite (subject to availability).

Next to the campsite, we have Thornton Hall Farm – a children’s Farm Park which is open from January to December and has a full calendar of events throughout (additional cost).

We have lots for you to do whilst you are staying with us should you choose not to sit back and relax…

The Pendle Way crosses through the centre of the farm or why not join the Pennine Way leading from the village. We have the Leeds & Liverpool canal within walking distance of the farm – for a longer walk head to the historic town of Skipton or take a shorter stroll to the village of Salterforth. You could even hire a barge to explore all the beauty of the canal – available at Skipton.

Experience hands-on animal encounters on our traditional working farm at Thornton Hall Farm. Climb onboard our Safari Ride* and take a trip up to our Deer Park then enjoy some delicious food in our onsite diner while the little ones burn off the remainder of their energy in our huge fun-filled Play Barn… a fun-filled, informative family day out, RAIN OR SHINE!

'Quadtrex' is based within Thornton Hall Country Park and is an exciting quad biking adventure. Trek over 160 acres of woodland, fields, and quarry land and explore the heart of Yorkshire/Lancashire countryside. Located a short distance from both Skipton and Colne, QUADTREX has everything you need for an unforgettable day in the great outdoors. Quadtrex must be pre booked. Please call 01282 841148 for more information. www.quadtrex.co.uk

Places to Eat…

Bizzie Lizzies – Fish and Chip Restaurant, 36 Swadford St, Skipton, North Yorkshire BD23 1QY

Tempest Arms – Elslack, Skipton, North Yorkshire BD23 3AY

The Punch Bowl – Skipton Road, Earby BB18 6JJ

Places to Shop...

Co-op, Earby (Fresh fruit, veg, and other foods) 71 Victoria Rd, Earby, Barnoldswick.

ALDI, 1 Crownest Road, Barnoldswick

Availability

Hard standing pitch with Electric Hook-up

  • Max 2 pets
  • Caravans
  • Motorhomes
  • Campervans
  • Tents
  • Folding caravans
  • Trailer tents
  • RVs
  • Fifth wheels

Hard standing pitches that are suitable for tents and tourers. Electric Hook-up is supplied.

Hard standing pitches that are suitable for tents and tourers. Electric Hook-up is supplied.

Features

Hard standing pitch
Suitable for tourers
Electric Hook-up
April 2024
M T W T F S S
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S

Hard standing pitch without Electric Hook-up

  • Max 2 pets
  • Caravans
  • Motorhomes
  • Campervans
  • Tents
  • Folding caravans
  • Trailer tents
  • RVs
  • Fifth wheels

Hard standing pitches that are suitable for tents and tourers. Electric Hook-up is no supplied.

Hard standing pitches that are suitable for tents and tourers. Electric Hook-up is no supplied.

Features

Hard standing pitch
Suitable for tourers
Electric Hook-up
April 2024
M T W T F S S
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S

Grass pitch with Electric Hook-up

  • Max 2 pets
  • Caravans
  • Motorhomes
  • Campervans
  • Tents
  • Folding caravans
  • Trailer tents
  • RVs
  • Fifth wheels

Grass pitches that are suitable for tents and tourers. Electric Hook-up is supplied.

Grass pitches that are suitable for tents and tourers. Electric Hook-up is supplied.

Features

Grass pitch
Suitable for tents
Suitable for tourers
Electric Hook-up
April 2024
M T W T F S S
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S

Grass pitch without Electric Hook-up

  • Max 2 pets
  • Caravans
  • Motorhomes
  • Campervans
  • Tents
  • Folding caravans
  • Trailer tents
  • RVs
  • Fifth wheels

Grass pitches that are suitable for tents and tourers. Electric Hook-up is not supplied.

Grass pitches that are suitable for tents and tourers. Electric Hook-up is not supplied.

Features

Grass pitch
Suitable for tents
Suitable for tourers
Electric Hook-up
April 2024
M T W T F S S
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S

Backpacker pitch without electric

  • Max 2 pets
  • Caravans
  • Motorhomes
  • Campervans
  • Tents
  • Folding caravans
  • Trailer tents
  • RVs
  • Fifth wheels

Grass pitches that are suitable for up to two hikers in a tent.

Grass pitches that are suitable for up to two hikers in a tent.

Features

Grass pitch
Pet friendly
Electric hook-up
April 2024
M T W T F S S
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S

Standard Bell Tent

  • Sleeps 5
  • 1 bedroom

Our bell tents accommodate up to 5 guests and includes a Silentnight Divan bed/mattress and airbeds for the children.

Please note that you must bring your own travel cot / bed and bedding for infants. Beds are NOT provided for under 1’s.

Check in is from 3pm and £100.00 damage deposit is payable on arrival.

Features

Fold Up Double Bed with Mattress
Double Duvet & Two Pillows
Bedding Set
Blanket
Pallet Table
Doormat
Rug
2 x Bedside Crates
A Lantern
Fairy lights
Mini Fridge
Heater
April 2024
M T W T F S S
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S

Luxury Bell Tent

  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 bedroom

Our luxury bell tents accommodate up to 4 guests and includes bed frame, mattress with luxury bedding and luxury decor.

Please note that you must bring your own travel cot / bed and bedding for infants. Beds are NOT provided for under 1’s.

Check in is from 3pm and £100.00 damage deposit is payable on arrival.

Features

Luxury metal bed frame with mattress
Luxury Duvet & Luxury Pillows
Bedding Set
Blanket
Pallet Table
Doormat
Rug
2 x Bedside Crates
A Lantern
Fairy lights
Mini Fridge
Heater
Table & Chairs
April 2024
M T W T F S S
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S

41 Reviews

All reviews featured on Campstead.com have been submitted by genuine customers who have stayed at the park.


S

Beautiful stay

Storey, Megan - 14/04/2024

5

Staff could not have been more helpful and flexible, shower and toilet facilities were spotless. Location was beautiful Farm although small had so much going on we managed 4 1/2 hours there with a 4 and 1 year old. The soft play was excellent and the food was amazing Great value for money

Read more
H

Could be great if they sorted the drainage

Hampson, Leanne - 11/04/2024

2

The location is great and the farm is brilliant. The facilities are small 3 toilets and 2 showers but they are great and clean. The pitches on the other hand and dreadful. They were so muddy. We had booked a grass electric pitch and couldn’t even drive on to it. Luckily there were some other guests who helped push me off in the campervan. We then went to another pitch and it was slightly better. I managed to get all 4 wheels on the pitch. The mud was EVERYWHERE though. I had to get pushed off the pitch again at the end of our stay. It’s such a shame as it could be so nice.

Read more
C

Half Term Visit

Cothliff, Karen - 22/02/2024

4

Stayed for 4 nights on the campsite in our motorhome. Lucky we were on a hardstanding pitch as the grass pitches were waterlogged due to the recent rain and were very muddy. But motorhomes and caravans were still using them, I'm sure they would have to have been towed off though.There are only 2 showers and 3 toilets in a portacabin, the shower cubicles were impossibly small with virtually no pressure on the water, although cleaned twice a day and the water was hot.Thornton Hall Farm is a great attraction with lots to do for kids, we visited at half term so there was extra entertainment on and our grandchildren aged 3, 5, 6 and 8 loved it.

Read more

Response from the owner

22 February 2024

Thankyou for taking the time to leave this review. We have passed your feedback in regards to the toilet and shower facilities to the site management. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Farm Park on site and we hope to see you again soon - THCP

Read more
P

Lovely clean site with amazing views

Peck, Michelle - 18/02/2024

4

We booked a hardstanding with electric for our campervan. The pitches were large and well laid with amazing views. There were portakabin style toilets and showers which were immaculate. We visited the animal.park and soft play on site which was great- staff were friendly and helpful and lots of opportunities to get close to the animals. Only area for development would be to have a grey waste drain- there is chemical waste disposal and drinking water stand but we couldn't find a grey waste drain or hose to replenish fresh water.

Read more

Response from the owner

01 April 2024

Thankyou for taking the time to leave this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pitches, facilities, views and staff. We have passed your feedback onto site maintenance to look into - THCP

Read more
M

First overnight stay in motorhome

Morris, Anthony - 16/02/2024

1

Unfortunately we never got off to a good start,nobody told us to steer clear of the grass when manoeuvring into our standing,so we got stuck,fortunately some of the staff came and rescued us after a short while,a signe was all that was needed,keep of grass to wet.Our electric hook up point was inoperative,so we had to find another,not good.estates for two nights and on returning to our standing found some one else was there,a mistake by the staff so we looked round again for electric hook up,toilets and shower great but so noises,overall stay not very good.

Read more

Response from the owner

01 April 2024

Thankyou for taking the time to leave this review. As you can appreciate the weather that we have received so far in 2024 has not been the best and this did mean that the grass was wet. We apologize for the confusion with the pitches, however sometimes not all campers come to check in and choose a pitch before speaking to staff. We are sorry to hear this happened and we have passed this feedback back to our checking staff to review - THCP

Read more
H

Last Minute Stop

Holmes, Claire - 08/02/2024

3

Last minute booking to try out new campervan, toilet/shower facilities warm and clean. Park nice a quiet. When Farm closed no access to children's play park and no access to food or drink.

Read more

Response from the owner

01 April 2024

Thankyou for taking the time to leave this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities and the site. As the children's play park is part of the Farm Park we are unable to allow campers to use this due to insurance and for health and safety as we have no staff on site to monitor this. We have passed this feedback on for review - THCP

Read more
R

Overview

Robinson, Keeley - 03/11/2023

4

A lovely family orientated place having the farm on your doorstep. Although the facilities are quite simple they were clean and ever reasonably warm in this weather.We were lucky with the weather but really enjoyed the stay with the country surrounding us.Thank you

Read more
D

good but needs a little rework

Davies, Stacey - 30/10/2023

4

The entrance to site was too tight for a twin axel, it had a wide enough opening but it was a drive in gate with a pedestrian gate, the pedestrian gate caused the issue as there was no way of opening this to make the entrance wider, there were no restriction when booking to say twin axels were not accepted. this also caused a problem when leaving so we left a day early. The electric hookup was over a fence on another pitch. when we arrived someone was using the pitch and so felt a little rude walking onto there pitch to hook up.People visiting the farm parked on the campsite ( yes the site was quiet but the campsite should be just for the campers) they were also using the toilets on the campsite (there were only 3 toilets available for campers) there was a que at one point. A little more info on the website due to access points and if there are size restrictions or types of caravan restrictions due to the access points would be handy.the toilets and showers were lovely and clea

Read more
W

Booking mistake.

Whyman, David - 29/10/2023

4

Due to a ‘cock up the booking front’ we had booked the wrong site! We called to notify them that we would be a ‘no show’ out of courtesy, knowing that our booking was non-refundable anyway. However, the lovely lady I spoke with told me that we could use the booking in the future if we wished. No experience of the site only their excellent customer service.We are looking to visit some time soon.

Read more
M

Campsite turned into a cycling events car park

Marsden, Janet - 27/10/2023

1

Arrived on site having paid a premium price of £33.00 pn for hard standing electric hook up for three nights £99.00. The facilities included a portacabin with 1 male toilet 1 female toilet and one mixed toilet and two showers. The cubicles were not heated, not what you expect for that price.There was a cycling event on and the campsite soon became crammed with vehicles, certainly not meeting the required distance for safety regulations. There was a queue for the toilets and showers which were covered in mud. The waste water tap and drinking water tap were covered in mud. There was no attempt to keep it clean over the weekend accept for one of the cyclists who took it upon herself to clean up as it was so bad.Then I was faced with another motorhome parking within a foot of me on the hardstanding pitch I'd paid for, to be told by him that he'd been told to park there and had paid £10.00. Totally unacceptable. This was an event overnight campsite at premium prices, shocking

Read more

Summary

3.7

95.1% would recommend this site

92.7% would stay here again

5
10
4
18
3
9
2
2
1
2

Location

Nearby sites

Ribblesdale Park

Lancashire, England

4.8 Miles / 7.8 km

4.3 (326 reviews)

Wood Nook Caravan Park

North Yorkshire, England

10.9 Miles / 17.6 km

4.7 (195 reviews)

Langcliffe Park

North Yorkshire, England

11.7 Miles / 18.9 km

4.6 (203 reviews)

Upwood Holiday Park

West Yorkshire, England

11.9 Miles / 19.1 km

4.6 (271 reviews)

Why CampStead

Great choice

20,000+ rentals and pitches

No booking fees

Same price as booking direct

Thousands of reviews

From verified guests

100% secure

Secure instant booking

Log in

Create an account

Correct the following

Enter a valid email address Enter a valid password Enter a valid first name Enter a valid last name

Reset Password

Correct the following

Enter a valid email address

Enter your email address below. You will receive an email from CampStead.com with a link to reset your password.