List your site
Destinations
England
Northern Ireland
Wales
Scotland
Ireland
Inspirations
Holiday Ideas
Accommodation

Lordstones Campsite

4.2 (39 reviews)

Lordstones is a privately owned Country Park located in the beautiful North York Moors National Park. Providing camping facilities, luxury camping pods and Round Houses this makes Lordstones an ideal base for visitors to the area.

Search for availability Search for availability

Lordstones offers 15 camping pitches in enclosed mature woodland areas providing guests with space and stunning views, 9 of which have electric hookup.

Lordstones camping pods comfortably sleep 2 adults and 2 children in a luxurious timber structure with toilets and a small kitchen area with feature ponds and a peaceful secluded setting. The Pods also have their own outdoor timber decking area with BBQ and seating. These Pods are hand constructed to the highest quality and offer a true ‘Glamping’ experience. We also have 4 Roundhouses located on the camping field which also sleep 2 adults and 2 children and use the main amenity block onsite.

The onsite café is a perfect destination for a quick coffee stop or enjoyable lunch and welcomes all. During High Season we offer evening dining in our Beltie Grill restaurant.

Availability

Jumbo glamping pod

  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 bedroom
  • Max 2 pets

Full size double bed and Double Sofa bed. Log burning stove.

We are proud to be able to offer five bespoke, handmade Luxury Camping Pods at Lordstones based in North Yorkshire. These Glamping Pods are of the finest quality, recently refurbished & offer a cosy retreat for guests wanting a luxury Glamping experience.

The Pods are set in their own peaceful and secluded ‘Pod village’, surrounded by natural ponds, wildlife and have beautiful moorland views of the surrounding area.

We have great improved our offering from the 2021 season, with all bedding included as standard & a ‘Welcome Hamper’ included in your Pod price.

Each pod can comfortably sleep up to 4 people and are ideal for 2 Adults & 2 Children.

We have a minimum stay of 2 nights (during High & Peak season) and we also accept pets in two of our pods

Features

Full size double bed with bedding
Double Sofa bed (Bedding not provided)
Log burning stove (Logs are available to purchase at our shop)
Small Kitchenette with fridge & Microwave
Exterior seating and BBQ & Boot store
Complete cutlery & crockery
Welcome Hamper - milk, Tea, Coffee, & sugar
Some of our pods are pet friendly
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S
August 2024
M T W T F S S

Grass standing pitch with electric (Main field)

  • Max 2 pets
  • Caravans
  • Motorhomes
  • Campervans
  • Tents
  • Folding caravans
  • Trailer tents
  • RVs
  • Fifth wheels

Layout revised with reduced pitches .These are larger pitches, 9m x 7m plus, with electric hitch up. More privacy, exclusive Up to 6 berth Tents

The site is enclosed by mature woodland and provides secluded space with stunning views. A new purpose built amenity building offers camping guests the highest standard shower and toilet facilities.

Please Note our campsite is a Tent only site. Due to National park restrictions we are unable to accept caravans or motor homes.

Features

Standard pitch - Size 9 x7
Electric hook-up
Grass pitch
Pet friendly
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S
August 2024
M T W T F S S

Grass standing pitch without electric (Woodland Retreat)

  • Max 2 pets
  • Caravans
  • Motorhomes
  • Campervans
  • Tents
  • Folding caravans
  • Trailer tents
  • RVs
  • Fifth wheels

Newly created Woodland enclosure, privacy & unique setting Smaller pitches 7m x 6m

The site is enclosed by mature woodland and provides secluded space with stunning views. A new purpose built amenity building offers camping guests the highest standard shower and toilet facilities.

Please Note our campsite is a Tent only site. Due to National park restrictions we are unable to accept caravans or motor homes.

Features

Grass Pitch
No electric hook up
Pet friendly
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S
August 2024
M T W T F S S

Roundhouses

  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 bedroom

Handmade, timber constructed, entirely bespoke roundhouses , fully insulated with fitted LED lights - sleeps 4

Handmade, timber constructed, entirely bespoke roundhouses , fully insulated with fitted LED lights - sleeps 4 - Double bed, pull out sofa bed - double bed will be made with duvet & pillows

Features

Full size double bed with bedding
Gas heater
Kitchen sideboard with crockery
Kettle - table & chairs
bedside tables & lights
WELCOME PACK & HAMPER
FIREPIT ON DECKING
PICNIC BENCH and BBQ
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S
August 2024
M T W T F S S

38 Reviews

All reviews featured on Campstead.com have been submitted by genuine customers who have stayed at the park.


W

Not recommended for solo thru-hikers, pod guests may have a better experience

Ward, Jane - 02/06/2024

1

I gave site managers, & Urra Estate manager opportunity to respond to concerns, also raised by past guests on other website reviews. Had their responses assured rectification action, I would not be posting. Full detail will be posted elsewhere due to limited space. Arrived 4pm. Phoned 10 mins before to advise arrival time & possible self-check-in. Given toilet key & scrappy paper with limited info. No phone signal. No out-of-hours: charging sockets; wifi details; or emergency contact number. Not told I was the sole camper on site. Remote site, 24hr public access - frequent car park noise & pedestrian traffic past tent area, not safe. Key entry to toilet, then combi-lock access to shower!!! Shower door was ajar so went in with backpack, turned back to use sinks & door slammed/locked behind me trapping all possessions! Passing hiker went up hill to call manager, no answer. Was about to call police when he found sole pod occupant to help. Refund offered. I declined due safety concerns.

Read more

Response from the owner

05 June 2024

We feel that a concise & detailed response is pertinent on Campmanager on this occasion & to the points made in this unfair review.1. Site safety - we host & welcome hundreds of hikers & campers to Lordstones each year & it is certainly a safe site, without any disturbance to guests.2. Mrs Ward unfortunately locked her possessions in the amenity block due to the door closing behind her; this is not the site's fault & responsibility and the door closure system & the combi locks to the showers provide security for campers & our guests, aswell as protecting these facilities from damage.3. The lack of mobile phone service is not ideal but we cannot control this & it is due to be improved with a new Bilsdale mast erected & new hardware we have been assured. We do not provide out of hours charging sockets per-se for our hikers but we do have external power sockets on our café building should a guests request that they require some electricity.In summary, it was an unfortunate incident that Mrs. Ward experienced with the door closure but it was not the fault of Lordstones or its staff.To provide further context, Mrs. Ward was both rude & aggressive to both our new camping manager, Lucy & our GM, Lauren, who she actually made cry.We offered a refund and an apology for the incident but to make such inflammatory remarks that are ill founded is not fair or appropriate; certainly to state that a call to the Police was an option further illustrates this.We always strive to improve our service & experience at Lordstones & rest assured, we are both recommended & welcoming of solo-hikers & all guests to Lordstones.

Read more
B

Decent little campsite

Beardsell, Martin - 01/06/2024

4

Clean tidy and lovely place. Could do with a bit for the kids to do such as a park or something. They got a bit bired at times and bored of running around the field.Facilities good. Fantastic views of teesside and some lovely grounds for walking.

Read more
C

Great long weekend camping

Coles, Gareth - 30/05/2024

5

Great weekend camping and the facilities we to a high standard and clean.

Read more
C

My first stay at lordstones

Crockett, Lesia - 08/04/2024

5

My daughter and I stayed two nights in the Moorhen pod , we took our two poodles and we had such a peaceful relaxing stay , the pod was everything we needed and very clean , the surroundings were spectacular! Such a beautiful place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend a stay at lordstones.

Read more
M

Calm and relaxing

Mace, Steven - 04/04/2024

5

Great weekend in Moorhen Pod, so relaxing and the pod was situated in serene location. Great access to a few small market towns. We all really enjoy our stay and we definitely are looking to return.

Read more
H

Lovely little place

Harris, Victoria - 07/11/2023

5

I stayed at Lord Stones with my young son and it was a lovely 2 night break for us. There is no internet/phone signal in the pod and for us that was brilliant. Device free time was exactly what we needed. You can get WI-FI at the cafe so it is there if you need it. The staff were amazing, every member of staff that we encountered was lovely and wanted to make our stay as comfortable as it could be. There are plenty of brilliant walking routes with lots to see. We visited out of season but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We purchased steak from the on site shop to take home it was beautiful and very reasonably priced.Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable. We will be back to visit soon

Read more
C

Walking the Cleveland Way

Cain, Christine - 02/10/2023

5

Very friendly reception. The pod we stayed in was well set out and comfortable. The meal we had in the restaurant was excellent and the manager and chef were very friendlyband professional.We enjoyed our stay even thoughnitvwas only for one night

Read more
F

Beautiful location

Forster, Donna - 24/09/2023

4

The site was beautiful staff were very friendly and helpful.The cabin was not very clean on arrival, bin lid was dirty, side board was dirty needed a wipe. Sofa bed had marks had to put a cover over it to sit on.Area was so beautiful, good for a quite time away,

Read more
F

A bit of a mixed bag

Fox, Andrea - 11/09/2023

3

PROSA beautiful location surrounded by fabulous scenery and walks. The pitches are spacious and have fences between for privacy. Good amount of electric hook ups and standpipes. The toilet/shower/washing up facilities are basic but clean. Picnic benches are provided on some pitches. We camped for 4 nights and were happy overall with the facilities.We personally did not use the café but it is very busy and we heard good things about it.Lots of great places to visit locally.CONSWe booked knowing there was a farm shop on-site but had to drive to the nearest town with a shop (Stokesley) to stock up on basics as the on-site shop does not sell milk/eggs/bread, etc which was a surprise – though there was plenty of steak and spendy chutney to be had.£10 deposit for the key to toilets/showers but most times we went someone had left the door unlatched so it was very much serving as a public toilet.The site has the Cleveland Way cutting through it so we expected lots of walkers on t

Read more

Response from the owner

18 September 2023

Good morning Andrea,Thank you for your most valued and constrictibve feedback following your stay with us.We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and surroundings, aswell as our delineation and spacing of our camping pitches and facilities.I would be grateful to reply to your 'CONS' comments to provide some context & action upon:-1. Our shop facility at Lordstones does have provisions for our camping guests, but unfortunately we have had to stop selling fresh bread, milk & eggs due to us ending up throwing our more than we sell of these items; this is not possible for us during such restrictive & difficult trading conditions at present. We often give our camping guests both milk and eggs if they ask and request for them in our café. We would love to offer more food & drink items in our shop but perishable items are a concern at present.2. The deposit key system we have in place is to try and mitigate against the use of the amenity block by walkers & our transient visitors. We haver experienced damage & misuse of these facilities over the years & after many attempt to rectify this problem, the use of a deposit key and the Yale lock has been the most dependable solution. This does lend itself to abuse should someone wish to put the latch on intentionally & abuse the goodwill of us trying to ensure that the wash facilities are for our camping guests only.Rest assured, we will continue to improve our service and product and hope we can welcome you back on another occasion.

Read more
D

Glamping trip

Davison, Amy - 05/09/2023

3

We had to wait to check in because we were told the pod hadn’t been cleaned yet (2:30pm). However all the pods were empty so we were confused as to why we couldn’t make use of the facilities yet. On arrival, we were very disappointed with the cleanliness of our pod. It smelt like wet dog, the floor was filthy (we had to bin our socks), the toilet smelt of urine, the fridge was dirty and the microwave was even worse. We made the best of our stay and would consider returning if the cleanliness dramatically improved and prices were reduced. 3 out of 5 pods were empty and this was during the school holidays too.

Read more

Summary

4.2

94.9% would recommend this site

89.7% would stay here again

5
18
4
13
3
7
2
0
1
1

Location

Nearby sites

Hillside Caravan Park

North Yorkshire, England

9.7 Miles / 15.6 km

4.7 (164 reviews)

Canada Fields Caravan Park

North Yorkshire, England

13 Miles / 21 km

4.4 (25 reviews)

Rosedale Abbey Caravan Park

North Yorkshire, England

13.1 Miles / 21.1 km

4.4 (171 reviews)

The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park

North Yorkshire, England

17.3 Miles / 27.8 km

4.6 (55 reviews)

Why CampStead

Great choice

20,000+ rentals and pitches

No booking fees

Same price as booking direct

Thousands of reviews

From verified guests

100% secure

Secure instant booking

Log in

Create an account

Correct the following

Enter a valid email address Enter a valid password Enter a valid first name Enter a valid last name

Reset Password

Correct the following

Enter a valid email address

Enter your email address below. You will receive an email from CampStead.com with a link to reset your password.