Lordstones Campsite

37 Reviews

4.1 (36 reviews)
J

Staff went above and beyond

Jackling, Laura - 13/06/2024

5

Staff were very helpful and went above and beyond to make things easier for me after an unexpected surgery before my stay. This made it possible for me to still attend rather than missing out on the family break.

Read more
V

Excellent option for C2C walkers

Van Buuren, Henk - 11/06/2024

4

For those C2C walkers for whom the stage from Ingleby Cross or Osmotherley to Blakely Ridge is a little bit too much, Lordstones provides an excellent opportunity to break the stage into two. Friendly staff, excellent restaurant and nice little shop. Very adequate camping facilities. The surrounding area is beautiful.

Read more
W

Not recommended for solo thru-hikers, pod guests may have a better experience

Ward, Jane - 02/06/2024

1

I gave site managers, & Urra Estate manager opportunity to respond to concerns, also raised by past guests on other website reviews. Had their responses assured rectification action, I would not be posting. Full detail will be posted elsewhere due to limited space. Arrived 4pm. Phoned 10 mins before to advise arrival time & possible self-check-in. Given toilet key & scrappy paper with limited info. No phone signal. No out-of-hours: charging sockets; wifi details; or emergency contact number. Not told I was the sole camper on site. Remote site, 24hr public access - frequent car park noise & pedestrian traffic past tent area, not safe. Key entry to toilet, then combi-lock access to shower!!! Shower door was ajar so went in with backpack, turned back to use sinks & door slammed/locked behind me trapping all possessions! Passing hiker went up hill to call manager, no answer. Was about to call police when he found sole pod occupant to help. Refund offered. I declined due safety concerns.

Read more

Response from the owner

02/06/2024

We feel that a concise & detailed response is pertinent on Campmanager on this occasion & to the points made in this unfair review.1. Site safety - we host & welcome hundreds of hikers & campers to Lordstones each year & it is certainly a safe site, without any disturbance to guests.2. Mrs Ward unfortunately locked her possessions in the amenity block due to the door closing behind her; this is not the site's fault & responsibility and the door closure system & the combi locks to the showers provide security for campers & our guests, aswell as protecting these facilities from damage.3. The lack of mobile phone service is not ideal but we cannot control this & it is due to be improved with a new Bilsdale mast erected & new hardware we have been assured. We do not provide out of hours charging sockets per-se for our hikers but we do have external power sockets on our café building should a guests request that they require some electricity.In summary, it was an unfortunate incident that Mrs. Ward experienced with the door closure but it was not the fault of Lordstones or its staff.To provide further context, Mrs. Ward was both rude & aggressive to both our new camping manager, Lucy & our GM, Lauren, who she actually made cry.We offered a refund and an apology for the incident but to make such inflammatory remarks that are ill founded is not fair or appropriate; certainly to state that a call to the Police was an option further illustrates this.We always strive to improve our service & experience at Lordstones & rest assured, we are both recommended & welcoming of solo-hikers & all guests to Lordstones.

Read more
B

Decent little campsite

Beardsell, Martin - 01/06/2024

4

Clean tidy and lovely place. Could do with a bit for the kids to do such as a park or something. They got a bit bired at times and bored of running around the field.Facilities good. Fantastic views of teesside and some lovely grounds for walking.

Read more
C

Great long weekend camping

Coles, Gareth - 30/05/2024

5

Great weekend camping and the facilities we to a high standard and clean.

Read more
C

My first stay at lordstones

Crockett, Lesia - 08/04/2024

5

My daughter and I stayed two nights in the Moorhen pod , we took our two poodles and we had such a peaceful relaxing stay , the pod was everything we needed and very clean , the surroundings were spectacular! Such a beautiful place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend a stay at lordstones.

Read more
M

Calm and relaxing

Mace, Steven - 04/04/2024

5

Great weekend in Moorhen Pod, so relaxing and the pod was situated in serene location. Great access to a few small market towns. We all really enjoy our stay and we definitely are looking to return.

Read more
H

Lovely little place

Harris, Victoria - 07/11/2023

5

I stayed at Lord Stones with my young son and it was a lovely 2 night break for us. There is no internet/phone signal in the pod and for us that was brilliant. Device free time was exactly what we needed. You can get WI-FI at the cafe so it is there if you need it. The staff were amazing, every member of staff that we encountered was lovely and wanted to make our stay as comfortable as it could be. There are plenty of brilliant walking routes with lots to see. We visited out of season but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We purchased steak from the on site shop to take home it was beautiful and very reasonably priced.Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so memorable. We will be back to visit soon

Read more
C

Walking the Cleveland Way

Cain, Christine - 02/10/2023

5

Very friendly reception. The pod we stayed in was well set out and comfortable. The meal we had in the restaurant was excellent and the manager and chef were very friendlyband professional.We enjoyed our stay even thoughnitvwas only for one night

Read more
F

Beautiful location

Forster, Donna - 24/09/2023

4

The site was beautiful staff were very friendly and helpful.The cabin was not very clean on arrival, bin lid was dirty, side board was dirty needed a wipe. Sofa bed had marks had to put a cover over it to sit on.Area was so beautiful, good for a quite time away,

Read more

Summary

4.1

94.4% would recommend this site

88.9% would stay here again

94.4% recommend

88.9% would return

5
17
4
12
3
7
2
0
1
1