Churchwood Valley

227 Reviews

4.6 (226 reviews)
H

Compact secluded,quite

Holland, Gary - 28/09/2023

4

Stayed in the A2 cabin which is ideal for two people has everything you need. Own place to park outside water pressure very good plenty of hot water we personally found accessibility better if you go to the bottom of mewstone Ave head towards Wembury beach and turn right and approach via the back end of the site. Very clean cabin staff very helpful Wembley beach is great went to two restaurants odd wheel and eddystone inn. Plymouth is only 53 miles to Newquay Cornwall. So if the weather is not to good in Devon it’s sometimes better in Cornwall

Read more
M

A relaxing holiday

Martin, Tom - 26/09/2023

4

The chalets are comfortable but some of the settees are well worn and need replacing. Also the TV’s are too small resulting in very poor audio quality. Also the water pressure is very low so it takes ages to get hot water to the sink and bathroom taps. There are no activities on site but the beach is not far and is nice and sandy and safe for swimming when the sea is calm. The chalet park is dog friendly. It is a nice quiet venue and the local walks are good. Good relaxing holiday. Ok for kids on the beach with a nice cafe.

Read more

Response from the owner

26/09/2023

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave us some feedback. We are sorry that you had one or two issues with your cabin while you were here, but we are reassured that you would still consider a return visit. Please do mention these issues when booking again and we will see what we can do to help. Thanks again.

Read more
C

Nicest pine lodge

Chapman, Sian - 26/09/2023

4

Always a pleasure to stay in this tranquil spot. Our pine Lodge was newly refurbished and a great improvement on last year's. However the location of our cabin was not ideal directly behind reception/workshop which made it noisy at times. Also we think that some screening between ours and the neighbouring cabin would be beneficial. Having said all of thus we would definitely stay again.

Read more

Response from the owner

26/09/2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you liked your cabin, but we are sorry about any noise disturbance which you experienced, if you had let us know we would have tried to address this if at all possible. We will also take a look at your recommendation for further screening. Thanks again for your feedback.

Read more
W

Finally - peace and quiet

Wingfield - 26/09/2023

5

This was not our first visit to Churchwood Valley, so we had some idea what to expect. The check in was very smooth and we were in our cabin in minutes. If I have one criticism it would be the VERY tight parking space by our cabin, but these vary around the site. But once again, the beauty of the site and the peaceful surroundings more than made up for it…

Read more
N

Peaceful Haven

Nicholls, Wynne - 26/09/2023

5

This was our third visit to Churchwod Valley staying in a PL Lodge.As always the lodge was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything needed for our stay. The on site shop is well stocked and morning papers can be ordered in advance if required. Very tasty pasties can be ordered for the next day and arrive still warm on collection - one of the highlight of my husband's holiday each time we visit!A short trip down to the beach, this may be difficult to walk for those with limited mobility due to it being somewhat hilly on return. However there is a residents car park at the bottom so you are able to drive down if you wish to do so. There is also a National Trust car park (payment required unless a member) at the top overlooking the sea if you prefer. There is a lovely cafe on the beach as well.Although the weather was not too good this time during our stay we thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing break, further enhanced by hearing the resident owl in the evenings.

Read more
P

Wonderful place to stay

Pratt, Caroline - 25/09/2023

5

We have stayed at Church wood valley a lot over many years and love the atmosphere of the place, it is w onderful to be so close to Plymouth but in a lovely quiet spot unspoiled, the trees and shrubs the wildlife it is just a fantastic place. The beach nearby is great with a lovely tea room toilets riding stables and marine centre plenty for everyone, there is also forest school. The cabins are fully equipped for all you need and if you have a problem the staff are very friendly and approachable, the shop on site also has a lot of your daily needs. So I have recommended Churchwood to other friends and they have also enjoyed their stay, so I would recommend Churchwood to anyone wanting a place to stay in Devon. Dogs are also welcome which is a bonus for us. There is a laundry on site if needed as well. This time we visited Buckfastleigh steam railway definitely a place to visit. The market and shops in Plymouth and the Barbican are great lots of variety.

Read more
W

Perfect location

Way, Susan - 22/09/2023

5

The staff went the extra mile to ensure we had a perfect week, firstly ensuring we had easy access due to my partner having mobility problems, even sourcing a more suitable armchair for our cabin. The cabin was extremely well equipped, very clean and lovely views over the valley. The shop was very well stocked and the homemade pasties and sausage rolls were delicious! Everyone was very friendly and we felt at home immediately. There are some lovely walks all around the area and the private beach is a short walk from the site. Plymouth Hoe is only a short distance away and Mount Batten and Jennycliff are perfect spots for looking out onto Plymouth Sound, both providing free car parking which is rare these days. Altogether a perfect holiday.

Read more
C

If you want Peace and Quiet this the Place for you

Cowie, Yvonne - 22/09/2023

4

It is a lovely place to stay. This is the second time we have been here. Great for walking. Also the beach is 5 minute walk. Very small roads. Very friendly people on site.There is a little shop. Plus down at the beach there is a small cafe. I would say if you have a disabilty you would possibly need to use your car for the beach and local pubs.

Read more
P

Perfect peaceful break that isn’t mainstream or commercial

Parfitt, Debbie - 22/09/2023

5

Easy to book, staff friendly and helpful. A home from home with cabins having everything available ( except towels) so you don’t have to worry about packing extra. Clean and spacious rooms and a perfect base in which to explore one many different activities or places. Handy distance from Plymouth or just enjoy the peaceful surroundings. After 25 years of visiting as a family with children to nearly retired couple we still find new places and things to do. - and take the dog along too.

Read more
B

Love the tranquility

Buckley - 22/09/2023

5

Our third year visiting churchwood Valley. We love the location, the lodge, the trees, clean air and friendly staff. We just love our holiday at churchood. Feel so blessed to have found this special place. Can't wait to go back. 😁

Read more

Summary

4.6

99.6% would recommend this site

98.2% would stay here again

99.6% recommend

98.2% would return

5
154
4
65
3
8
2
0
1
1