List your site
Destinations
England
Northern Ireland
Wales
Scotland
Ireland
Inspirations
Holiday Ideas
Accommodation

Lighthouse Leisure

4 (124 reviews)

As a family run business, we are proud to have been rated as a 4* Holiday Park by the esteemed Scottish Tourist Board. Onsite, we offer fantastic facilities for the whole family, with the added bonus of having the beautiful Solway Coast right on our doorstep. Guests can avail of our onsite Leisure Centre with its own swimming pool, coffee shop, entertainment room, bar, and separate bar for adults.

Search for availability Search for availability

Set in well-maintained lawns with tarred roads, Lighthouse Leisure is less than a 2 minute walk from the beach and the historic Southerness Lighthouse.

On site we have an adventure playground and leisure complex offering plenty of fun and relaxation for all the family. The park has been in operation for nearly 50 years and being family owned, has built up a well-established warm and friendly atmosphere.

In addition to our 8 month camping pitches, we also operate as a child friendly park and have a fantastic outdoor play area for our younger guests to enjoy. Our touring area is suitable for tents/tourers/motorhomes and have an adjacent modernised toilet and shower facility.

As an ideal opportunity to enjoy the freedom of self-catering, guests can also relax in the comfort and luxury of our holiday caravans. We offer 2/3 bedroom Comfort Plus grade vans and 2/3 bedroom Comfort Pet Friendly caravans with double glazing and central heating.

All caravans have showers. Linen is provided but we ask that you supply your own towels. Cots and highchairs are available to hire. All gas and electric is included in the price.

Onsite, guests can avail of our quality Leisure Centre facility with its own swimming pool, coffee shop, entertainment room, bar, and separate bar for adults only. Immediately adjacent the Park is a fully stocked shop and a regular bus service from the village to Dumfries and intermediate villages.

Off site, there is a host of activities and past times for guests to enjoy. The park is situated next to the championship Southerness Golf Club and there are seven other courses of varying size within a 15 mile radius of Southerness. For those with an interest in angling, sea fishing is available along the coast and a selection of Loch and river fishing inland.

This area also offers several top quality cycling routes within just a 15 minute drive, and has many other cycle routes/paths in the surrounding area. With our prime location, we are also fortunate to have many coastal and forest walks in the surrounding area.

As a perfect day out for the whole family, Dumfries is a short 20 minute drive away where there is the Ice Bowl, Museum and Camera Obscura, the Aviation Museum, Robert Burns Centre, Caerlaveroch Castle, Britain’s only triangular castle and of course the many high street shops. Drumlanrig Caste and Country Park is just 18 miles North of Dumfries and offers something for all the family with an outstanding adventure play park, castle tours, craft workshop, cycle hire, walks and trails.

Less than an hour’s drive away is the world famous Blacksmith’s shop at Gretna Green where romantic runaway marriages were forged in past times. Also Gretna Gateway Outlet Village with around 50 stores and 5 cafes.

Availability

Grass Pitch with Electric

  • Max 2 pets
  • Caravans
  • Motorhomes
  • Campervans
  • Tents
  • Folding caravans
  • Trailer tents
  • RVs
  • Fifth wheels

Our small touring area has a number of grass standing pitches, all with a 16amp electric hook-up and close to all amenities.

*If you are booking a pitch for a tent which is more than 5m long, please contact the office on +44 (0) 1387 880277 to check if a suitable sized pitch is available.

Features

Close to Amenities
16amp Electric Hook-Up
Pet Friendly
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S

Comfort Plus Grade - 2 Bedroom

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 bedrooms

The spacious and attractively furnished caravans can sleep up to 4 people, they have double glazing and central heating and come fully equipped.

The self-catering comfort plus grade caravans are maintained to an excellent standard.

Features

Latest models
Central Heating/Double Glazing
Fully Equipped for all your needs
Linen Included
No pets allowed
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S

Comfort Plus Grade - 3 Bedroom

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 bedrooms

The spacious and attractively furnished caravans can sleep up to 6 people, they have double glazing and central heating and come fully equipped.

The self-catering comfort plus grade caravans are maintained to an excellent standard.

Features

Latest models
Central Heating/Double Glazing
Fully Equipped for all your needs
Linen Included
No pets allowed
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S

Comfort Pet Friendly Grade - 2 Bedroom

  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 bedrooms
  • Max 2 pets

The spacious and attractively furnished caravans can sleep up to 4 people, they have double glazing and central heating and come fully equipped.

The self-catering comfort plus grade caravans are maintained to an excellent standard.

Features

Latest models
Central Heating/Double Glazing
Fully Equipped for all your needs
Linen Included
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S

Comfort Pet Friendly Grade - 3 Bedroom

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 bedrooms
  • Max 2 pets

The spacious and attractively furnished caravans can sleep up to 6 people, they have double glazing and central heating and come fully equipped.

The self-catering comfort plus grade caravans are maintained to an excellent standard.

Features

Latest models
Central Heating/Double Glazing
Fully Equipped for all your needs
Linen Included
May 2024
M T W T F S S
June 2024
M T W T F S S
July 2024
M T W T F S S

124 Reviews

All reviews featured on Campstead.com have been submitted by genuine customers who have stayed at the park.


F

Perfect location

Ferguson, A - 17/05/2024

5

Had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend. Great location. Caravan was spotless. Great value for money. Will be returning soon.

Read more
W

Fantastic

Wilson, C - 17/05/2024

5

Fantastic long weekend stay, caravan was lovely nice and clean, looked like it had had a recent revamp. Nice quiet park, our caravan was in the back corner and it was nice and quiet and peaceful. Would definitely recommend and we will be back again. Nice clean park, couple of pubs in the village, one onsite as well. One of the pubs had a restaurant, fish and chip shop as well, also a little shop there as well.

Read more
H

1st impression

Holder, J - 16/05/2024

2

On arrival at caravan park it looked a bit old and in need of updating. The caravan was supposed to be comfort plus but in comparison to Haven/Park Dean it was basic. We found packets of crisps left by previous customers, the bed mattress needed replacing as there was a dip in it, however on the plus side the entertainment allowed dogs in

Read more

Response from the owner

16 May 2024

Hi there,We are sorry that the caravan wasn't up to standards, we aim to have our caravans in perfect condition for customers so we apologies you feel let down.We have spoke to the cleaners about the crisps that had been left behind, this shouldn't have happened and we will make sure it doesn't happen again.Regarding the mattress, we have had no previous complaints about this particular bed and had you came to the office during your stay to let us know of the issue we would have been able to sort it. We appreciate you coming to stay with us, and we apologies again for the issues that arose.

Read more
H

Very friendly good entertainment

Hanlon, Robert - 11/05/2024

3

I would possibly return to lighthouse caravan park the only thing I could say we had a motorhome there was a tap for filling water but wasn't suitable for hose so we couldn't use it there was a few motor homes that found it a problem had to use tap at somebody's static caravan and showers could be a bit better but we had a lovely time there just if touring side could be upgraded a bit

Read more
K

Facilities poor

Kennaway, A - 07/05/2024

2

First of all no freezer in the van had taken frozen food as was staying Monday till Friday Charge of £20 to use the swimming pool ridiculously expensive You have to pay £4 for wifi Only good thing was very clean van and linen

Read more

Response from the owner

16 May 2024

Hi there,We are sorry you had problems during your stay, we are in the process of modernizing each caravan which includes replacing the fridges with fridge freezers. Unfortunately the caravan you stayed in has not had these changes yet, which we take responsibility for and we apologies for this. The swimming pool is £20 for a session because your session is a family only, private session. During Covid we changed it to private sessions, and we were told by customers this is the preferred option rather to having it as a public session. Regarding the Wi-Fi, we are in process of changing the supplier, the company we use is an outside company and we understand how expensive it is when customers come to stay for a whole week. The Wi-Fi in the bar is free to use, which again we understand is not the most convenient but we are aiming to fix this problem with the internet. We appreciate you coming to stay with us, and apologies again for the issues that arose during your stay.

Read more
B

Boring

Brennan, J - 30/04/2024

3

Arrival and booking in was straightforward caravan was supposed to be custom but was not as expected cleaner must of used the same cloth to clean everything as the work surface was greasy and the dust on the TV was not touched we were not impressed with the experience and would not return.the photo of the static that they sent us was not what we got

Read more

Response from the owner

30 April 2024

We are sorry that your last stay with us was disappointing. We try to respond and get things done if they are reported to office during opening hours or when the office is closed (5:00 p.m. to 9:00 a.m.) and customers leave a message.We apologize for the cleanliness issue. If we knew about the problem, we could have solved it during your stay. We will talk to the cleaning crew to prevent this from happening in the future.

Read more
S

Holiday fun

Scobie, A - 20/04/2024

5

Although it was a wet weekend, lighthouse still saved the day with activities in a marquee with bouncy castles and kids loved it.

Read more
N

A good weekend

Niven, J - 20/04/2024

4

Very friendly helpful staff. Good on site facilities.

Read more
M

Family weekend break

Mair, L - 19/04/2024

4

The van was ideal for us, 2 adults 1 child and our dog. Caravan was clean and plenty of utensils etc for the weekend. Bathroom radiator could do with a paint as very badly marked with rust but still clean. And some upgrading but all in all a great van. Staff are friendly and helpful too. The beach is a short distance from the park and it’s a great walk, clears the head in the morning and dog loved it too. Most places are pet friendly so your not stuck in the van, you can take your pooch to the entertainment and bars.

Read more

Response from the owner

30 April 2024

Thank you for your reply. We will also check the bathroom radiator.

Read more
M

Would def come back

McKean, G - 16/04/2024

5

Caravan allocated to us appeared brand new. Van and everything in it was spotless on arrival. Check in was easy.Mermaid bar was nice although only visited it once. Site was well kept, quiet and litter free.

Read more

Summary

4

87.9% would recommend this site

84.7% would stay here again

5
45
4
51
3
19
2
8
1
1

Location

Why CampStead

Great choice

20,000+ rentals and pitches

No booking fees

Same price as booking direct

Thousands of reviews

From verified guests

100% secure

Secure instant booking

Log in

Create an account

Correct the following

Enter a valid email address Enter a valid password Enter a valid first name Enter a valid last name

Reset Password

Correct the following

Enter a valid email address

Enter your email address below. You will receive an email from CampStead.com with a link to reset your password.