26

Booking Type
Arrival Date
31 July 2021
Duration
Flexibility
Adults (18+)
Children
Pets

Lordstones Campsite

Chop Gate, North Yorkshire


50 Reviews

Park Description

Lordstones offer 15 camping pitches in an enclosed mature woodland providing guests with space and stunning views.

Lordstones camping pods comfortably sleeps 4 in a luxurious timber structure with feature ponds and a peaceful secluded setting. The Pods also have their own outdoor timber decking area with BBQ and seating. These Pods are hand constructed to the highest quality and offer a true ‘Glamping’ experience. Other options include a stay in a bell tent, bothy tent and nomadic yurts whatever accommodation you choose guests will have a special memorable stay at Lorstones.

The onsite café is a perfect destination for a quick coffee stop or enjoyable lunch and welcomes all. The Restaurant and Grill at Lordstones offers the finest quality, locally sourced produce, prepared in a simple and sympathetic method.

Opening Dates

Open all year round.

Booking Arrangements

April - October

51 Reviews

All reviews featured on Campstead.com have been submitted by genuine customers who have stayed at the park.

4.3 / 5 overall rating based on 51 Reviews in last 12 months

92% would recommend this site

92% would stay here again

Excellent
 
 
Very Good
 
 
Average
 
 
Poor
 
 
Terrible
 

28/07/2021

"Glamping pod"

Mr D Leighton - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

Highly enjoyable stay in glamping pod in lovely secluded setting, only real points to improve on is the pods externally and internally require some minor tlc (light fittings hanging down and smoke alarm exposed) we will be back.

26/07/2021

"Lordstones"

Mrs S Fisher - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

We have stayed at Lordstones campsite twice now. We love this site and the location. Would highly recommend to anyone.

 

Dominic, replied to this review on the 26 July 2021

Thank you for your kind comments, I'm glad to hear you have enjoyed both your stays with us. We hope to see you many more times in the future.

15/07/2021

"Cleveland Way Campsite"

Mrs C White - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

Excellent site for walking the Cleveland Way as it lines on the route. The timber roundhouses are lovely!

 

Dominic, replied to this review on the 15 July 2021

Thank you for your kind review. Our Roundhouses are a new addition and I'm happy to here you liked them. I'm glad you enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

15/07/2021

"Lovely"

Mrs P Moody - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

Have stayed in the Glamping Pods before, enjoyed staying in the Roundhouse this time. Best sleep ever and the Roundhouse lovely inside. Set in the best location. Wish the cafe did bowls of chips though, like in the early days. was always a place to stop on a walk and... Have stayed in the Glamping Pods before, enjoyed staying in the Roundhouse this time. Best sleep ever and the Roundhouse lovely inside. Set in the best location. Wish the cafe did bowls of chips though, like in the early days. was always a place to stop on a walk and have chips and a drink. It is a fantastic place to stay. Walk over to the edge as dusk is falling and see the lights and the towns lit up. Very special. Thanks to all the staff. We will be back.

 

Dominic, replied to this review on the 15 July 2021

Hello Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Great to hear you had a brilliant sleep in our new Roundhouses. They are certainly proving a popular new addition. You can order pots of fries from our cafe and if you... Hello Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Great to hear you had a brilliant sleep in our new Roundhouses. They are certainly proving a popular new addition. You can order pots of fries from our cafe and if you were after a bigger bowl or with some cheese on top (I highly recommend) you can ask at the bar and they will be able to get those for you. Something for next time! We look forward to seeing you soon and will have chips and drinks waiting for when you do.

25/06/2021

"Great fun"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

Great campsite for everyone kids loved the freedom and space to play and explore

24/06/2021

"Loved our stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

Loved our stay. We have returned due to the ease of the site. Feeling secure with a young family and cleanliness of washing facilities. Only down side this time and it’s very small is the pitches aren’t labelled with numbers. After putting our tent up in the rain we... Loved our stay. We have returned due to the ease of the site. Feeling secure with a young family and cleanliness of washing facilities. Only down side this time and it’s very small is the pitches aren’t labelled with numbers. After putting our tent up in the rain we got told by another camper we were in the wrong pitch, turns out we weren’t but think it wcould benefit as we were close to putting it down :-)

 

Dominic, replied to this review on the 29 June 2021

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. It is great to hear that you felt secure as a young family and I will pass on your kind words regarding the cleanliness of our washing facilities to our cleaner. You will be glad to know that our pitches are now... Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. It is great to hear that you felt secure as a young family and I will pass on your kind words regarding the cleanliness of our washing facilities to our cleaner. You will be glad to know that our pitches are now numbered. We had some awful weather in May which set our plans for the field back, however with this lovely weather we have had in June, we have finally managed to push forward. We hope to see you again soon.

21/06/2021

"The campsite was like an unfinished building site and certainly not a woodland retreat. You cancelled our restaurant booking on one day's notice."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

I am writing this review because you have no other box for written comments. I don't imagine you will want to publish it. We were not impressed by the state of the campsite and it massively detracted from our experience. Essentially it was a mess and it looked like a... I am writing this review because you have no other box for written comments. I don't imagine you will want to publish it. We were not impressed by the state of the campsite and it massively detracted from our experience. Essentially it was a mess and it looked like a building site. We have photos of it if you want us to send them to you. There are pallets, traffic cones, railings and building materials all round the campsite. It appears that a new glamping pod is being built or renovated and there is other planned work. At 8 am a builder's van and waste truck drove across the campsite (described to us as a "woodland retreat" but it was anything but that) and parked by our tent. The workers put on a loud radio and started loudly working on the pod. Another worker turned up and started shouting at us to put the chairs back which we had taken from outside a nearby pod. There was only one other (walk in, hiker's) tent on the campsite and no one else was camping there or using the pods or the chairs and it was raining so we had temporarily put our things on the chairs. The builder then, bizarrely, started shouting "Engerland" loudly (I repeat this was 8 am). We had booked, 3 weeks in advance, to eat in your restaurant at 7.30 pm on Wednesday 16th June-the night we arrived. The booking was confirmed at the time and then again 2 days beforehand by e mail. At 10 am the day before a Lordstones employee contacted me by phone to say the restaurant would now be "closed to the public and we wouldn't be able to eat there". I said we were walking the coast to coast walk, had no other means of buying food to eat as there were no shops between where we were on the walk (ie the day before) and your restaurant and we obviously didn't have a car to drive anywhere else to eat. He said in that case we could eat at 5.30 pm instead. I said we would not be there by then (we were walking 18 miles) and in any event it was too early to eat. He apologised and said he was "sorry but the restaurant would be closed for a private function of 70 shooters and we couldn't blame them for wanting to take that booking". First, this was clearly in breach of the legal covid restrictions as at 16 June so I don't know how it is you can take such a private booking for your restaurant and second it is an appalling way to treat your customers! I made a fuss and he said they could do some sandwiches for us and to ring the next morning with what we wanted. I rang the next morning, having looked at the menu, and said we wanted take away burgers which he agreed to. The bizarre thing is when we turned up at 7pm to collect them there was plenty of room at the restaurant, inside and out, there were a lot less than 70 shooters there and we ended up eating outside the restaurant (with the shooters) in the normal way! So the whole thing about cancelling our booking was completely unnecessary but actually caused us a lot of stress-ie to be told you cant have an evening meal when doing a long walk and have no way of sourcing food is stressful and spoilt what should have been a good day. On the plus side I would point out that all your staff were polite, nice and helpful albeit clearly inexperienced in many respects. Doing the coast to coast for 14 days we camped at a number of farm and other campsites along the route. Lordstones was by far the most expensive and clearly rates itself as being a cut above the rest. However, in comparison, it was not value for money and frankly because of the building site state of campsite I think you should give us a full refund. I would not recommend it to any other coast to coast campers despite it being on the route.

 

Dominic, replied to this review on the 28 June 2021

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review and feedback, but we would have greatly appreciated if you could have emailed us directly so we could have explained and given some context to your stay and criticism. I would like to respond to your points made for some... Good afternoon, Thank you for your review and feedback, but we would have greatly appreciated if you could have emailed us directly so we could have explained and given some context to your stay and criticism. I would like to respond to your points made for some reassurance that we act upon such matters and to provide some explanation & mitigation for some of the issues that arose. We certainly do not want any of our guests or visitors not to enjoy their stay with us at Lordstones & we apologise that you did not. The reason why there were still works carrying out during your stay was due to the extremely poor weather experienced in May this year and also due to shortages of materials due to the pandemic. This has unfortunately meant that some small completion works to our new Roundhouses were being carried out during your stay. To describe the site as a mess and a building site is both unfair and not true; we had one joiner operative on site, aswell as our two Caretaker & Ground staff assisting with some basic works & with some painting of the remaining units and fencing. The traffic cones were present to prevent vehicles driving over freshly grass seeded areas & to prevent further damage, we had fencing materials stacked neatly in the corner of the site (not pallets) & some bark shavings for our new 'Woodland Retreat' site. This brings me to the explanation about the reason your camping booking was moved to the Main Field and not the new Woodland site. Again, this site is behind schedule with the laying of turf and remedial works not being able to commence during the extremely wet end to May. We therefore have transferred our WR bookings to the main field so as to avoid postponement and rebooking; this has been at our cost with the Main site having larger pitches and priced at £40.00 per night, rather than the £25.00 per night as charged for the WR guests like yourselves. We believe that this alteration and transfer was both fair and appropriate. I have taken the time to establish what happened with your comment about one of our workers shouting at you to put some of our Roundhouse guest chairs back. This was simply not the case. The man in question, Craig, did not shout at you to replace the chairs that you had taken, but he simply & politely asked you return them when you had finished. He is a local man who has a great rapport with our camping guests. Th simple truth is that you should not have removed the chairs for your use, without even asking, when they are not for your use and certainly not during critical covid hygiene times of concern. Craig was concerned as we have already had several items stolen from our camping site this season, so he simply was keeping at eye on our property. To further exasperate matters, he stated that you shouted 'NOOOOO' to his request, to which he retreated, both angry and frustrated at your behaviour and outburst. With regards your restaurant booking, we did host a small charity clay pigeon 'supper' at Lordstones and we informed our restaurant bookings of this alteration. To clarify, this was a group that would arrive on site at different, staggered intervals and not a collective group of 70 no. guests; we are therefore not in breach of any legal restrictions with no large tables & as your review stated, you noticed that there only a few people dining on site when you came to collect your food at 7.00pm. We did provide you with a burger and we are glad that you were able to dine outside; we simply informed our guests of this number when we heard from our organiser out of both courtesy and to make alternative arrangements, which we did for you and your partner. We are so pleased that you found our staff both helpful and courteous, we make no apology in trying to employ younger, transient members of staff during our summer periods to help our business and for local, rural employment. We certainly do not believe we are a cut above the rest, we charge £25.00 (including VAT) per night for our Woodland Retreat guests, which you paid and we feel with our facilities on site that for two, three or even four guests, this represents decent value for money. Please note that we do offer discretionary, 'Hiker' rates for those walking the Coast to Coast, Cleveland Way etc at £10/15 per night. As stated, it would have been most helpful if we could have had a conversation outside the realms of a review site, but your review has been published & we have felt the need to reply and offer an explanation to you and to other guests who may take the time to read our reviews. We do hope that you can return to stay at Lordstones and experience our Woodland Retreat and meal at the Belted Bull this or next summer, we believe that you will enjoy your stay.

10/06/2021

"Round house"

Mrs T Chance - Stayed with family, May 2021

Staff friendly and helpful Toilets and showers not clean at all

 

Dominic, replied to this review on the 17 June 2021

Good afternoon Tabatha, Thank you for your review. I believed that our emails and open correspondence had prevented a negative review, but I am disappointed that you felt the need to leave such a review. As stated, I was informed of your compliant about the... Good afternoon Tabatha, Thank you for your review. I believed that our emails and open correspondence had prevented a negative review, but I am disappointed that you felt the need to leave such a review. As stated, I was informed of your compliant about the cleanliness of the amenity block some ten mins following, as I happened to be on site. I was not happy that you described them as being 'disgusting' so I visited the amenity block to investigate. Following this inspection, I would not have termed either the toilets or showers as dirty at all. The sinks were clean, even after some use, the tiled flooring was clean even with some of the handtowels being left and not deposited in the bins provided. We would like to welcome you back again to our site as we are very proud of the new Roundhouse units that have taken a great deal of time and effort to ensure that they are comfortable for our guests.

10/06/2021

"Mrs"

Mr A Hall - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

We had a very enjoyable couple off nites in your round houses, we have already recommended them to our family.and they have booked up for next weekend .

 

Dominic, replied to this review on the 12 June 2021

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing your family members when they arrive.

04/06/2021

"Room for improvement"

K Speight - Stayed with family, May 2021

We stayed at Lordstones during the first (hot) bank holiday weekend after lockdown 3 and we did have a really lovely stay and the following comments are just annoying frustrations that weren’t required had we been informed properly prior to or on arrival; check in was... We stayed at Lordstones during the first (hot) bank holiday weekend after lockdown 3 and we did have a really lovely stay and the following comments are just annoying frustrations that weren’t required had we been informed properly prior to or on arrival; check in was between 3-5, we arrived approx 4pm and followed the instructions to obtain the keys for our accommodation. However the door to the main building (shop) was locked with the closed sign and no other sign of life than people passing through on walks. There wasn’t a number to ring on arrival provided and there is no internet service (with my provider). We eventually managed to get some signal, to search for the phone number and ring. I was then told to come in and the door would be unlocked for me. An unnecessary annoyance. I was told they were closing the shop early as trade had been slow that day so if we wanted anything to look now. We’d arrived hoping for a BBQ so we weren’t looking to go back out that evening but the selection of choice at the shop was limited, not a single slice of bread in the place never mind burger buns! We arrived at our pod which was lovely, far nicer and better equipped than I expected. We decided to eat at the Cafe after our failed BBQ as we really didn’t want to trail out again, according to the book the cafe was open until 7pm and this was approx 6pm, we arrived at the cafe to be told it was now the restaurant and the cafe closed at 4pm, I was informed that the literature hadn’t been updated, another unnecessary annoyance! Co-Op it was..! We had a lovely evening playing games on the decking and outside around the pod as there is plenty of space that feels like your garden. That night we decided to light the log burner in our pod, massive mistake, the smoke somehow was coming inside the pod so we had to extinguish. The only other annoyance was nipping out on the Sunday morning and coming back to the campsite car park being FULL. There is additional parking but this car park was being used by people using the park for walks/cycling. Where people are staying they should have an allocated space as you can’t take your car to the pod so you have to park up and lug everything to the pod which is all well and good but when you have a 7mth baby and everything that goes with it on top of your shopping etc the additional parking is somewhat a way away! Like I say overall it was lovely and we had a great time.

 

Dominic, replied to this review on the 04 June 2021

Good morning Katie, First of all, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us last week, all feedback and comments are appreciated and acted upon. I just wanted to clarify a few things:- 1. I believe that you arrived on Saturday 29th May, a very busy... Good morning Katie, First of all, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us last week, all feedback and comments are appreciated and acted upon. I just wanted to clarify a few things:- 1. I believe that you arrived on Saturday 29th May, a very busy bank holiday weekend. If this was the case, then the doors to the café & shop, our main premises where you indeed check in, would be closed only due to the fact that we are cleaning down (imperative with table surfaces, bar areas and toilets etc in these times) ready for reopening at 5.00pm for our evening, restaurant service. This is what perplexes me with your comment about the café closing times; we serve pretty much exactly the same food and drink in our restaurant, with burgers, smaller bites and steak sandwiches etc. These items are the same price as the café equivalents. The opening times that you refer to were the service times we adopted during our limited hours of opening, after some relaxation of the lockdown restrictions; we therefore find it difficult to be criticised when we have had to be flexible with not allowing guests to dine indoors until the last few weeks, and some awful weather experienced during May in particular. 2. Our shop does stock limited quantities of bread, buns and perishable items for our camping guests, but your arrival on a busy Saturday might have meant these had been sold. We were certainly not quiet, it was our busiest trading day of the year so far! We do apologise that you were unable to purchase any bread from us. 3. The car parking at our site is one of concern, due to the sheer volume of visitors & a great deal of indiscriminate parking. This extends to those visitors who park in the designated car parking bays for our Pod guests; these are clearly signed as requesting other visitors not to park in these bays because they are reserved for our Pod guests. However, unfortunately, these signs are not adhered to. This is something we are currently addressing with a car parking charging system and management from a designated attendant. Rest assured, we will manage the parking on site more effectively and particular for our residents on site. I hope that the above goes someway to address your grievances and adds some context and mitigation towards the issues you highlighted. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the great Pods we have on site, with the beautiful and tranquil location. We also hope to welcome you back to Lordstones in the near future Best wishes

Other Parks Nearby

Hillside Caravan Park

9.7 Miles / 15.6 km

152 Reviews

Otterington Park

12.9 Miles / 20.8 km

133 Reviews

Canada Fields Caravan Park

13 Miles / 21 km

14 Reviews

Rosedale Abbey Caravan Park

13.1 Miles / 21.1 km

245 Reviews