11

Booking Type
Arrival Date
20 April 2019
Duration
Flexibility
Adults (18+)
Children
Pets

Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway


407 Reviews

Park Description

Auchenlarie Holiday Park boasts picture postcard views over Wigtown Bay and a peaceful unspoilt landscape with plenty of fresh air. The park caters for Touring, Camping, Glamping and Holiday Home rental.

Touring and Camping: Customers have a choice of hard-standing or grass pitches with electric hook-up.

Glamping: Auchenlarie Holiday Park is home to several luxury S-Pods. Resembling miniture hotel rooms, each pod features a double bed, an en-suite with shower, toilet and wash hand basin, and a fully equipped kitchenette.

Holiday Caravan Rental: There are a whole range of holiday caravans available to hire at Auchenlarie Holiday Park to suit all budgets.

The park has many facilities onsite including a leisure complex, convenience store, amusement arcade, Bar, Bistro and evening entertainment.

Opening Dates

10th February - 30th October

Booking Arrangements

Touring and Camping: A 20% deposit is required at time of booking.

Holiday Homes and Luxury S-Pods: For bookings of less than 6 nights, a £50 deposit is required. For 7+ nights bookings, a £75 deposit is required, and for a booking of 14+ nights, a £150 deposit is required.

All balances must be paid at least 4 weeks prior to your arrival.

Facilities

Basic Facilities

Modern Shower/Toilet Block

Hard Standing Pitches with Electric Hook-up

Grass Pitches with Electric Hook-up

Launderette

Recreational Facilities

Gym

Swimming Pool

Spa

Shops & Restaurants

Onsite Sports Bar and Restaurant

Food Shop

Attractions & Amenities

Beach

408 Reviews

All reviews featured on Campstead.com have been submitted by genuine customers who have stayed at the park.

4.2 / 5 overall rating based on 408 Reviews in last 12 months

89% would recommend this site

87% would stay here again

Excellent
 
 
Very Good
 
 
Average
 
 
Poor
 
 
Terrible
 

17/04/2019

"First time"

D Prosser - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

Beautiful location, plenty for kids to do, clean wash facilities, Was our first time there staying in a family tourer caravan we will be returning and hiring a caravan this time. Would recommend

16/04/2019

"Great park"

Mrs J Caldwell - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

Pros Lovely clean park with beautiful views from caravan. Peaceful park which wasn't that busy even though it was the school holidays. Good to get a seat for the evening entertainment without having to queue up for ages before it starts. Kids enjoyed the day and... Pros Lovely clean park with beautiful views from caravan. Peaceful park which wasn't that busy even though it was the school holidays. Good to get a seat for the evening entertainment without having to queue up for ages before it starts. Kids enjoyed the day and evening entertainment especially the sweet prizes that were given out to most of them. The beach accessible from the park was lovely. Lots of great attractions for kids nearby. Staff friendly and helpful in sorting out problems. Thought all the shop prices were very reasonable. Food from take away and restaurant was OK but wouldn't want to eat there every day and not much choice nearby. We went into Dumfries a couple of nights. Cons Caravan could have been cleaned to a higher standard. Mattresses in silver caravan were quite worn looking and very uncomfortable. Had to request extra padding to lie on. Swimming pool could be improved by being a bit warmer and the addition of slides or toys. Showers in the pool were very cold. Lockers were very small so required a couple and the £1 fee per locker was non returnable. Overall I had a great holiday and would return.

16/04/2019

"Mr John Brown"

Mr J Brown - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

The site is got everything for all ages staff very helpful site is very clean as is inside you can get free wyfi only annoying thing is you don't get signal on phone and hit and miss trying to get signal on TV even though there is a out side plug

16/04/2019

"Happy early Break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

Good all round I would come again

16/04/2019

"This was a lovely holiday park and although I had passed by on the A75 many times and did not realise how big the park was and how lovely."

Mrs Hall - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

Lovely, Clean and beautiful views would definately stay again.

13/04/2019

"Like being abroad with the PALM trees"

Mrs M Fenwick - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

We enjoyed our stay at Auchenlarie and we liked seeing all the rabbits although my dog would liked to have got to them lol. The only thing we found hard was getting down to the beach but we enjoyed doing it.

13/04/2019

"Very disappointing stay, dirty caravan and noisy neighbours"

Ms G Lamb - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

On arrival caravan hadn't been hoovered and wasn't very clean. We booked a bronze caravan so expected basic but have never been greeted by such disappointing levels of cleanliness and care from bronze caravans at other parks in the past. Sofa was stained, carpets... On arrival caravan hadn't been hoovered and wasn't very clean. We booked a bronze caravan so expected basic but have never been greeted by such disappointing levels of cleanliness and care from bronze caravans at other parks in the past. Sofa was stained, carpets disgusting stained threadbare and covered in crumbs and hair, toilet needed bleaching. Curtains at most windows were just lining material. Missing light shade. One of rings on hob didn't work. The whole caravan needed to be deep cleaned including the sofas and carpets. It felt dirty and we felt uncomfortable in it. No hoover provided. No WiFi unless you paid £25 for a week and no phone reception. Doors didn't seem very secure, just wasn't a pleasant environment to stay in. Lots of rubbish around, loads of cigarette ends outside of caravan near decking and litter around the park and on the beach. Beach is lovely if you see past the litter, lots of pretty shells and pebbles. Loads to do in surrounding area. We only booked a bronze caravan as never intend on spending much time in the caravan, just as well in this case. We were situated near the entertainment complex and as a result over the weekend had to put up with shouting screaming and foul language as people left the club one evening this resulted in the police attending. Two nights we were aware of drug use from neighbouring vans. We spoke to reception twice, at no point despite the park being relatively empty did they offer to move us to a different caravan away from the entertainment complex. We had a young child with us who experienced 2 nights of broken sleep due to the rowdiness outside. It was the 2nd visit to reception before we were offered for someone to come and hoover the caravan. We were booked to return later in the year and during our stay we tried to swap to their sister park which is much preferable to Auchenlarie however this wasn't available unless we paid to upgrade, the cost of which was more than we had paid for the original holiday. We are considering cancelling our next holiday as we do not like the idea of retuning to Auchenlarie following this experience. No security on site despite them clearly having issues with antisocial behaviour on an evening and no phone reception to contact anyone to report the situation when reception has closed. We were told they were reviewing the situation and considering employing security this to me implies the anti social behaviour wasn't a one off but a frequent occurrence. We didn't use the entertainment. On site shop was handy and very well stocked. Take away was convenient and had a good value and tasty menu, although a couple of things were out of stock. We would not recommend the park to others. You go on holiday and expect to be in clean pleasant surroundings. Unfortunately Auchenlarie didn't meet these expectations.

 

Debbie, replied to this review on the 14 April 2019

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry you had such a disappointing time with us. Your comments have been passed to Head of Departments who will speak with their teams. It is very disappointing for us to find we have not... Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry you had such a disappointing time with us. Your comments have been passed to Head of Departments who will speak with their teams. It is very disappointing for us to find we have not delivered the excellent service we provide ourselves on.

12/04/2019

"Auchenlarie stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

We had a nice short break at Auchenlarie. Caravan was clean and adequate. On site amenities were good. Lots to do nearby. Couldn’t work out the heating in the van so was a bit chilly 1st thing in the morning. Paid for WIFI in the caravan but could not connect to... We had a nice short break at Auchenlarie. Caravan was clean and adequate. On site amenities were good. Lots to do nearby. Couldn’t work out the heating in the van so was a bit chilly 1st thing in the morning. Paid for WIFI in the caravan but could not connect to internet, no refund from third party despite several emails of complaint.

12/04/2019

"Holiday"

Miss S Mitchell - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

Had a good weekend at the park, feel it could do with a better park for the children but it wouldn’t put us off booking again. Luxury caravans could do with a good clean as we stayed at the park in the same caravan and it was quite run down from our last visit

12/04/2019

"."

Mrs L Lucas - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

.

Other Parks Nearby

Sandgreen Caravan Park

2.5 Miles / 4 km

0 Reviews

Anwoth Holiday Park

4.4 Miles / 7.1 km

101 Reviews

Castle Cary Holiday Park

5.2 Miles / 8.3 km

83 Reviews